Skip to global navigation Skip to content Skip to search Skip to footer Skip to site map Access Key Legend
Global Navigation
JSO News
Sheriff Honors JSO’s 2020 Employees of the Year, Citizen of the Year and Sponsors at Annual Ceremony
February 19, 2020
Sheriff Mike Williams hosted the 2020 Annual Meritorious Awards Ceremony Wednesday, February 19, 2020 in the Police Memorial Building’s Assembly Hall. This annual ceremony honors employees from each of the six categories who were recognized throughout the previous year.

The Merit Board, which is made up of the agency’s Chiefs, selects the honorees based on their previous recognition as well as their continued contributions since they were first recognized.

Also, at the event, the Sheriff recognized Dr. Lazar Finker as his selection for the 2020 “Citizen of the Year” honoree.

Those JSO employees recognized at the ceremony are:

“Police Officer of the Year” – Police Officer Gordon Titcomb
Patrol Division / Zone 2
Sponsored by: Nimnicht Chevrolet

Officer Titcomb earned the title as JSO’s 2020 “Police Officer of the Year” for showing great initiative when it came to solving numerous property crime cases in Fall 2018.

“Corrections Officer of the Year” – Corrections Officer Eugene Murriell (unable to attend)
Jails Division / Pre-Trial Detention Facility
Sponsored by: JM Family Enterprises

Corrections Officer Murriell was unable to attend the annual ceremony, but will be recognized at a later date by his chain-of-command for utilizing his skills and expertise to help one of our neighboring agencies with a case in 2019.

“Civilian Employee of the Year” – Program Manager Garland Scott
Investigations Division / Violence Reduction
Sponsored by: Alhambra Theatre & Dining

Scott, the Support and Outreach Liaison for the agency, received this honor for the vital role he plays in helping to reduce violent crime in our city.

“Auxiliary Officer of the Year” – Police Auxiliary Officer Steven Sheffer
Patrol Support Division / Police Auxiliary
Sponsored by: Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Sheffer was recognized for his commitment to making Jacksonville a safer place to live through his volunteer work as an Auxiliary Officer with the Sheriff’s Office. In 2019, he volunteered more than 1,075 hours.

For more information about becoming an Auxiliary Offcer please visit

“Police Supervisor of the Year” – Police Sergeant Michael Monts
Investigations Division / Burglary
Sponsored by: Stein Mart, Inc.

Monts earned the title of JSO’s “Police Supervisor of the Year” for his dedication to public safety and his efforts to decrease crime in Patrol Zone 2.

“Civilian Supervisor of the Year” – Manager of Personnel Services Deidre Hall
Human Resources Division / Recruitment & Selection
Sponsored by: First Coast Security

Hall received this honor for the significant impact she made in streamlining the hiring processes for sworn and non-sworn law enforcement positions.

For more information about a career with the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office, please visit

“Citizen of the Year” – Dr. Lazar Finker
Finker-Frenkel Family Foundation

Sheriff Williams and Congressman John Rutherford recognized Dr. Lazar Finker as JSO’s 2020 “Citizen of the Year” for establishing the Finker-Frenkel Family Foundation and for fostering long-term social changes within our community.

At the ceremony Sheriff Williams said, “There are no limits to the support that Dr. Finker and his family provide to the men and women in the law enforcement profession.”

In 2018, the Finker-Frenkel Family Foundation funded the addition of three life-life statues and an interactive kiosk in front of the Fallen Officers Memorial Wall in Jacksonville, Florida.

Also, at the Annual Meritorious Awards Ceremony, Sheriff Williams recognized the sponsors who support JSO’s programs each year:
  • Ameris Bank
  • Alhambra Theatre & Dining
  • Bold City Heating & Air
  • First Coast Security
  • Florida Blue
  • Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge 5-30 (uanble to attend)
  • Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
  • JM Family Enterprises, Inc.
  • Justice Coalition
  • Nimnicht Chevrolet
  • Paul Davis Restoration (unable to attend)
  • Publix Super Markets (uanble to attend)
  • Stein Mart, Inc.
Photo Caption: Sheriff Mike Williams (left) recognizes Dr. Lazar Finker (right) as JSO's 2020 "Citizen of the Year" honoree.
Video Player Window Exit Youtube Player
Access Key Legend
Most browsers support jumping to specific links by pressing access keys on your keyboard. On Windows, you can press ALT + Access Key (Chrome), ALT + Access Key + Enter (Internet Explorer) or ALT + Shift + Access Key (Firefox); on Macintosh, you can press Control + Option + Access Key (Safari, Firefox, and Chrome). All pages on this site use the following access keys:
Access Key 1 : Navigation
Access Key 2 : Page Content
Access Key 3 : Search
Access Key 4 : Footer
Access Key 5 : Site Map Access Key 6 : Access Key Legend Visitors using the JAWS screen reader 8 or above can navigate using the following keystrokes: H to cycle forward through the headings
Shift + H to cycle backwards through the headings
1 to navigate to the next level 1 heading (or a number between 1 and 6 to navigate to the next heading on this level)
Shift + 1 to navigate to the previous level 1 heading (or a number between 1 and 6 to navigate to the previous heading on this level)
Insert + F6 to provide a list of all headings
We are committed to meeting the guidelines set forth by the American with Disabilities Act (ADA), Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act, and Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG2). All pages on use structured semantic markup. H1 tags are used for main titles, H2 tags for subtitles. View the City of Jacksonville Americans with Disabilities Act Notice.
End Of Page